skip to main content


Founded in 1999, the Texas A&M University Health Science Center (Texas A&M Health) was established as an independent state agency of The Texas A&M University System to organize all health-related entities across Texas A&M into one comprehensive health-related institution. Founding academic units included the College of Medicine, College of Dentistry, Institute of Biosciences and Technology and the then-proposed School of Rural Public Health.

Following creation of the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy in 2006 and a College of Nursing in 2008, the institution transitioned in 2013 into an academic unit of Texas A&M University while still maintaining its state agency status.

As the most comprehensive health science center in Texas, Texas A&M Health is dedicated to addressing health care needs of today and tomorrow through forward-thinking medical research, service and health professions education.

Impacting nearly every county in the state of Texas with education, research and outreach programs, Texas A&M Health operates seven campuses located in Bryan-College Station, Corpus Christi, Dallas, Houston, Kingsville, McAllen, and Round Rock.

This geographically dispersed, multi-disciplinary model allows for interprofessional training, collaborative research and patient care that supports the common goals of Texas A&M Health and the university.